Jefferson Township  is governed by a three-member board of trustees, who are elected in November of odd-numbered years to a four-year term beginning on the following January 1. Two are elected in the year after the presidential election and one is elected in the year before it. There is also an elected township clerk, who serves a four-year term beginning on April 1 of the year after the election, which is held in November of the year before the presidential election. Vacancies in the clerkship or on the board of trustees are filled by the remaining trustees.

Jefferson Township

225 Cemetery Road, West Jefferson, OH 43162

Administration Phone
614 - 879 - 8607

Administration Fax

Fire Deptartment Phone 614-879-8265

Fire Department Fax

Fire Chief

- Total 42.1
sq mi (109.1 km² )
- Land 42.1 sq mi (109.1 km²)
- Water 0.0 sq mi (0.1 km²)
Elevation [1] 919 ft (280 m )
Population (
2000 )
- Total 6,935
Density 164.7/sq mi (63.6/km²)
FIPS code 39-38696 [2]
GNIS feature ID 1086544 [3]

Trustee - Jeff Pfeil
215 Taylor Blair Road, West Jefferson, OH 43162
Phone 614-879-9287

Fiscal Officer - Amy Forrest 




Jefferson Township Board of Trustees meet every other Wednesday at the Township Administration Office. Meetings begin at 7:30 PM and are open to the public. Reports are given at each meeting by the Township Department Heads and bills are reviewed prior to payment.

Trustee - Leon Creamer 7860 US Highway 40, West Jefferson, OH 43162
Phone 614-296-6875

Trustee - Jon Forrest 480 Taylor Blair Road, West Jefferosn, OH 43162
Phone 614-496-6147